Thursday, March 3, 2011

2015 FIFA Women's World Cup

Canada to host the 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup!
by Michele Walker, SIRC

It was officially announced today that Canada will be hosting the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup, and now six cities across the nation will start the preparations to host this massive soccer event. Seven cities are actually currently on the list as hosts, and one of them will need to be dropped following the site evaluation visits. They are Vancouver, Montreal, Halifax, Ottawa, Edmonton, Winnipeg and Moncton. This announcement also means that Canada will now host the 2014 Women's Under-20 World Cup as a test event.

The announcement was actually expected after Zimbabwe, the only other country vying to host the quadrennial event, pulled out just a few days ago citing that they did not have the bandwidth to hold this tournament to the standards expected. But still, Canada had to wait until the evaluation was completed before FIFA , the world governing body of football (soccer), could award the event to the Canadian Soccer Association.

Held every four years, the first Women's World Cup tournament was held in 1991 (in China), 61 years after the Men's first FIFA World Cup tournament in 1930. The current format for women has 16 teams but the 2015 tournament will see the field expand to 24 competing nations – truly a testament to the global popularity of the women’s game. As host, Canadians, old and new, will benefit from the legacy the sport will leave behind, both from a venue and participation standpoint.

Canada successfully and previously hosted the inaugural Women's Under-20 World Cup in 2002, as well as the Men's Under-17 World Cup (in 1987) and the Men's Under-20 World Cup (in 2007).

Contact SIRC for more information on this topic!

Photo Credit: Beata Tyrala


Syed Awais Ali said...

Watch 2015 FIFA Women World Cup Live
Watch FIFA Women World Cup Online
FIFA Women World Cup 2015 Online

The 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup will be the seventh FIFA Women's World Cup, the quadrennial international women's football world championship tournament. In March 2011, Canada won the right to host the event. The tournament will be held from 6 June to 5 July

They have nice options Today about this Event. Order Yours now and Enjoy this Event Live on your PC.No matter Where you are..No regional restrictions
No Downtime
No Blackout...
Real-Time Streaming

David Marchal said...

FIFA World Cup is always exciting to watch and this year it look even more nail biting as the competition grows immensely every year. The tournament is going to be broadcasted live online by plenty of networks and you can catch the action on those channels for free by visiting this link below. FIFA World Cup 2018